Chandler Invitational 2011

author Web Master - DVCC (Sep, 11 2011)


DVCC runners in action at the Chandler Invitational at Tumbleweed Park in Chandler

Even with the varsity sitting out, seven boys on the Desert Vista Cross Country team earned medals in the Chandler Invitational on Saturday, Sept. 10.

The boys meet was broken into four races, one for each grade, with the top 20 finishers in each race earning medals and the next 30 earning ribbons.

Andrew Hermanski had the best time for DVCC, finishing in 17 minutes, 34 seconds to lead three sophomores to top 12 finishes. Hermanski was eighth, Alec Hoyt ninth and Jacob Walimaa 12th among sophomores. Austin Tielke (11th) and Dylan Smith (14th) earned medals in the junior race and Kyle Havriliak and Zever McGary medaled in the freshman race.

Earning ribbons: seniors Kevin Estrada (22nd), Ryan Husser (25th) and Austin Aguinaga (37th); juniors Troy Giordano (22nd), Mitchell Bogushefsky (27th), Spencer Clason (30th) and Josh Barlow (49th); sophomores Kyle Herrig (33rd) and Jake Alme (43rd), and freshmen Josh Geiger (25th), Duncan Merrill (26th), Matt Beeks (30th), Ethan Tang (39th) and Brian Ingersoll (49th).

Coach Chris Hanson had his varsity run all the way from Desert Vista to Chandler’s Tumbleweed Park – about 12 miles -- to get in a long workout a week in advance of one of the nation’s biggest meets. DV will be taking 40 runners to the Woodbridge Invitational in Irvine, Calif.

Related Information:

  • Race Results can be found here.
  • Pictures can be found here.
  • Videos can be found here.

Meet Articles